Go to top of page

Appendix 2 - APS agencies

Agency Total APS employees as at 4/5/12 Function
Source: APSED
Large agencies with > 1,000 APS employees
Attorney-General's Department 1,651 Policy
Australian Agency for International Development 1,514 Policy
Australian Bureau of Statistics 4,105 Specialist
Australian Customs and Border Protection Service 5,696 Larger operational
Australian Electoral Commission 1,812 Larger operational
Australian Securities and Investments Commission 1,996 Regulatory
Australian Taxation Office 24,274 Larger operational
Bureau of Meteorology 1,795 Larger operational
Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry 5,281 Larger operational
Department of Defence 23,389 Larger operational
Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations 4,479 Policy
Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs 3,089 Policy
Department of Finance and Deregulation 2,046 Policy
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade 3,390 Policy
Department of Health and Ageing 5,223 Policy
Department of Human Services 36,901 Larger operational
Department of Immigration and Citizenship 8,504 Larger operational
Department of Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary Education 3,680 Policy
Department of Infrastructure and Transport 1,044 Policy
Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities 3,129 Policy
Department of the Treasury 1,130 Policy
Department of Veterans' Affairs 2,164 Larger operational
IP Australia 1,092 Larger operational
Medium agencies with 251–1,000 APS employees
Aboriginal Hostels Limited 580 Smaller operational
Australian Communications and Media Authority 612 Regulatory
Australian Competition and Consumer Commission 915 Regulatory
Australian Crime Commission 599 Smaller operational
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare 382 Specialist
Australian National Audit Office 372 Specialist
Australian Public Service Commission 362 Policy
Australian Trade Commission 512 Smaller operational
Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre 341 Regulatory
Australian War Memorial 309 Specialist
Clean Energy Regulator2 300 Regulatory
Comcare 686 Smaller operational
ComSuper 484 Smaller operational
Defence Housing Australia 620 Smaller operational
Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy 728 Policy
Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency 918 Policy
Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet 809 Policy
Department of Regional Australia, Local Government, Arts and Sport 711 Smaller operational
Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism 587 Policy
Fair Work Australia 321 Smaller operational
Family Court of Australia 651 Smaller operational
Federal Court of Australia 368 Smaller operational
Geoscience Australia 762 Specialist
Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority 280 Specialist
Insolvency and Trustee Service Australia 431 Smaller operational
Migration Review Tribunal and Refugee Review Tribunal 290 Smaller operational
Murray-Darling Basin Authority 322 Policy
National Archives of Australia 496 Specialist
National Library of Australia 520 Specialist
National Museum of Australia 262 Specialist
Office of the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions 515 Smaller operational
Office of the Fair Work Ombudsman 918 Regulatory
Small agencies with < 250 APS employees
Administrative Appeals Tribunal 159 Smaller operational
Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research 54 Specialist
Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity 29 Specialist
Australian Fisheries Management Authority 210 Regulatory
Australian Human Rights Commission 145 Specialist
Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies 132 Specialist
Australian Institute of Criminology 48 Specialist
Australian Institute of Family Studies 91 Specialist
Australian National Maritime Museum 123 Specialist
Australian National Preventive Health Agency 46 Specialist
Australian Office of Financial Management 42 Specialist
Australian Organ and Tissue Authority 34 Specialist
Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority 182 Regulatory
Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency 161 Regulatory
Australian Research Council 122 Specialist
Australian Skills Quality Authority 111 Regulatory
Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority 69 Smaller operational
Australian Transport Safety Bureau 125 Smaller operational
Cancer Australia 58 Specialist
Commonwealth Grants Commission 40 Specialist
CrimTrac Agency 196 Specialist
Equal Opportunity for Women in the Workplace Agency 38 Specialist
Federal Magistrates Court of Australia 185 Smaller operational
Food Standards Australia New Zealand 130 Regulatory
Future Fund Management Agency 84 Specialist
Independent Hospital Pricing Authority 35 Specialist
Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House 105 Specialist
National Blood Authority 57 Specialist
National Capital Authority 62 Specialist
National Film and Sound Archive of Australia 240 Specialist
National Health and Medical Research Council 247 Specialist
National Native Title Tribunal 168 Smaller operational
National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority 89 Regulatory
National Water Commission 62 Specialist
Office of National Assessments 152 Specialist
Office of Parliamentary Counsel 53 Specialist
Office of the Australian Building and Construction Commissioner 168 Regulatory
Office of the Australian Information Commissioner 97 Regulatory
Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman 163 Specialist
Productivity Commission 207 Specialist
Professional Services Review 32 Specialist
Royal Australian Mint 207 Smaller operational
Safe Work Australia 110 Policy
Screen Australia 28 Specialist
Social Security Appeals Tribunal 97 Smaller operational
Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency 51 Regulatory
Torres Strait Regional Authority 105 Specialist
Small agencies outside the scope of agency survey
Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care 1 Specialist
Australian Law Reform Commission 15 Specialist
Corporations and Markets Advisory Committee 2 Specialist
National Competition Council 8 Specialist
National Mental Health Commission 5 Specialist
Office of the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security 12 Specialist
Office of the Inspector-General of Taxation 7 Specialist
Private Health Insurance Ombudsman 14 Specialist
Wheat Exports Australia 13 Regulatory

1 Agencies are grouped into five categories: larger operational, smaller operational, policy, specialist and regulatory. See Appendix 3 for more information on clustering of agencies by primary function for benchmarking purposes.

2 The Clean Energy Regulator became a statutory authority on 2 April 2012 and did not participate in this year's agency survey.

Back to top

Last reviewed: 
29 March 2018