Go to top of page

Winners announced at the Australian Public Service Diversity and Gender Equality Awards 2017

Media statement from the Acting Australian Public Service Commissioner, Stephanie Foster

Increasing employment opportunities for people with disability, challenging negative perceptions of diversity, promoting workplace inclusion, and ambitious strategies for achieving gender equality were all features of the winning initiatives announced at today’s inaugural Australian Public Service (APS) Diversity and Gender Equality Awards.

Hosted by the Australian Public Service Commission, the awards honour outstanding contributions to workplace diversity and gender equality across the APS.

“I am delighted to acknowledge the commitment and enthusiasm demonstrated in the 85 award entries in strengthening diversity and gender equality in the APS,” said acting APS Commissioner Stephanie Foster.

“These Awards provide a unique opportunity to showcase and celebrate the work of passionate APS staff and agencies. I congratulate the four winners that were announced this morning.”

The winners in each award category are:

  • Gender Equality Award – The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade: for its ambitious and innovative Women in Leadership Strategy
  • Individual Award – Justin Lokhorst, Australian Bureau of Statistics: for his personal contribution to promoting diversity and inclusion in his agency
  • Department/Agency Award – The National Disability Insurance Agency: for role modelling best practice recruitment and employment of people with disability
  • Network Award – ATOMIC (Australian Taxation Office (ATO) Making Inclusion Count) – ATO LGBTI+ network: for its active role supporting LGBTI+ inclusion in the ATO and the APS.

For more information about the APS Diversity and Gender Equality awards and the 2017 winners see the Australian Public Service Commission website.

Media enquiries

0436 652 207
media [at] apsc.gov.au

Last reviewed: 
29 March 2018