Go to top of page

New Chairs for APS Disability Champions in 2018

The APS Disability Champions Network welcomed Dr Heather Smith, Secretary of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science as its new chair and Ms Jenet Connell, Deputy Australian Public Service Commissioner, as the new deputy chair this year.

The Network acknowledged outgoing chair Mr Chris Moraitis who will remain an active member.

The network includes senior advocates who come together to focus strategically on APS-wide disability employment matters and promote initiatives within their agencies.

During the April meeting guest speaker Mr Alastair McEwin, Disability Discrimination Commissioner, reflected on the 25th anniversary of the Disability Discrimination Act 1992.

The Network recognise that the APS has come a long way since the commencement of the Act. The Champions are continuously striving to improve access and supports in the APS for people with disability. The Network would love to hear about the disability initiatives taking place in your agency. Get in touch with your disability champion today!

To find out more about the APS Disability Champions Network, visit the APSC website.   

Last reviewed: 
1 June 2018