Go to top of page

The Great APS Graduate Debate

Congratulations to the 2016 Debate winners

A hearty congratulations to the Government/affirmative side #thesolutiongd; winners of The Great APS Graduate Debate!

Negative - #theCause

Tommy Hendrick
Australian Taxation Office
First speaker
Alexander Meaney
CrimTrac Agency
Second speaker
Tom Boak
Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
Third speaker
Rhianna Blackthorn
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Fourth speaker (rebuttal)
Nicola Parise
Department of Social Services
Secret weapon

SES mentors – Opposition/Negative Team

Gemma Van Halderen, First Assistant Statistician
Australian Bureau of Statistics

Pablo Carpay, First Assistant Commissioner
Australian Electoral Commission

Affirmative - #thesolutiongd

Jackson Wright-Smith
Australian Taxation Office
First speaker
Jessica Musulin
Department of Communications and the Arts
Second speaker
Sherif Alam
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Third speaker
Daniel Golder
Department of Veterans Affairs'
Fourth speaker (rebuttal)
Eloise Layard
Department of Human Services

SES mentors – Government/Affirmative Team

Jo Talbot, First Assistant Secretary, Corporate
Department of Communications and the Arts

Jo Schumann, Executive Director, Corporate & Business Services Division
Murray Darling Basin Authority

2016 Debate adjudicators

Mr John Lloyd

Australian Public Service Commissioner

Ms Rebecca Skinner

Deputy Secretary, Defence People Group, Department of Defence

Dr Wendy Southern PSM

Deputy Secretary, National Programme Delivery Group Department of Health.

Hosted by Adam Spencer

Adam Spencer, media personality and debate champion, will host The APS Graduate Debate. This is an exciting and entertaining event which tests the wits and skills of graduates who have recently commenced their careers in the Australian Public Service.

Promotional videos


Last reviewed: 
25 May 2018