Main content

Australian Public Service agencies

The list of APS Agencies which appears below is divided into 4 categories:

  • Category A – Departments;
  • Category B – Statutory Agencies with all staff employed under the Public Service Act 1999 (the PS Act);
  • Category C – Statutory Agencies which have the capacity to employ staff under the PS Act as well as their own enabling legislation (dual staffing bodies);
  • Category D – Executive Agencies.

A fifth category (Category E) includes bodies which employ staff under the Public Service Act 1999 and operate with some degree of independence (e.g. some have their own industrial agreement and/or are separately identified under the Financial Management and Accountability Act 1997 or the Commonwealth Authorities and Companies Act 1997). However, these bodies are parts of APS agencies rather than separate APS agencies as defined in the PS Act.

Categories last updated: September 2014

Category A


  1. Attorney-General’s Department
  2. Department of Agriculture
  3. Department of Communications
  4. Department of Defence
  5. Department of Education
  6. Department of Employment
  7. Department of Finance
  8. Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  9. Department of Health
  10. Department of Human Services
  11. Department of Immigration and Border Protection
  12. Department of Industry
  13. Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development
  14. Department of Social Services
  15. Department of the Environment
  16. Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
  17. Department of the Treasury
  18. Department of Veterans’ Affairs

Category B

Statutory Agencies which employ all staff under the Public Service Act 1999

  1. Aboriginal Hostels Limited
  2. Administrative Appeals Tribunal
  3. Asbestos Safety and Eradication Agency
  4. Australian Aged Care Quality Agency
  5. Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research
  6. Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity
  7. Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
  8. Australian Communications and Media Authority
  9. Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
  10. Australian Crime Commission
  11. Australian Customs and Border Protection Service
  12. Australian Fisheries Management Authority
  13. Australian Human Rights Commission
  14. Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies
  15. Australian Law Reform Commission
  16. Australian National Audit Office
  17. Australian National Maritime Museum
  18. Australian National Preventive Health Agency
  19. Australian Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplantation Authority
  20. Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority
  21. Australian Public Service Commission
  22. Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency
  23. Australian Research Council
  24. Australian Skills Quality Authority
  25. Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority
  26. Australian Taxation Office
  27. Australian Trade Commission
  28. Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre
  29. Australian Transport Safety Bureau
  30. Australian War Memorial
  31. Cancer Australia
  32. Clean Energy Regulator
  33. Climate Change Authority
  34. ComSuper
  35. Defence Housing Australia
  36. Fair Work Commission
  37. Family Court and Federal Circuit Court
  38. Federal Court of Australia
  39. Food Standards Australia New Zealand
  40. Future Fund Management Agency
  41. Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
  42. Independent Hospital Pricing Authority
  43. Migration Review Tribunal and Refugee Review Tribunal
  44. Murray-Darling Basin Authority
  45. National Blood Authority
  46. National Capital Authority
  47. National Competition Council
  48. National Disability Insurance Agency 
  49. National Film and Sound Archive of Australia
  50. National Health and Medical Research Council
  51. National Health Funding Body
  52. National Health Performance Authority
  53. National Library of Australia
  54. National Museum of Australia
  55. National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority
  56. National Portrait Gallery of Australia
  57. National Water Commission
  58. Office of Parliamentary Counsel
  59. Office of the Australian Information Commissioner
  60. Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman
  61. Office of the Fair Work Building Industry Inspectorate (Fair Work Building & Construction)
  62. Office of the Fair Work Ombudsman
  63. Office of the Inspector-General of Taxation
  64. Private Health Insurance Ombudsman
  65. Productivity Commission
  66. Professional Services Review
  67. Safe Work Australia
  68. Telecommunications Universal Service Management Agency
  69. Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency
  70. Torres Strait Regional Authority
  71. Workplace Gender Equality Agency

Category C

Statutory Agencies with dual staffing powers

  1. Australian Bureau of Statistics
  2. Australian Electoral Commission
  3. Australian Institute of Criminology
  4. Australian Institute of Family Studies
  5. Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
  6. Australian Securities and Investments Commission
  7. Comcare
  8. Corporations and Markets Advisory Committee
  9. Infrastructure Australia
  10. National Transport Commission#
  11. Office of National Assessments
  12. Office of the Auditing and Assurance Standards Board#
  13. Office of the Australian Accounting Standards Board#
  14. Office of the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions
  15. Office of the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security
  16. Screen Australia

# Do not currently employ any staff under the PS Act.

Category D

Executive Agencies

  1. Australian Financial Security Authority
  2. Bureau of Meteorology
  3. CrimTrac Agency
  4. National Archives of Australia
  5. National Mental Health Commission
  6. Old Parliament House

Category E

Bodies with staff employed under the Public Service Act 1999 which operate with some degree of independence (e.g. some have their own Enterprise Agreement and/or are identified separately under the Financial Management and Accountability Act 1997 or the Commonwealth Authorities and Companies Act 1997),but are not separate APS agencies as defined in the Public Service Act 1999.

  1. Australian Agency for International Development (part of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade)
  2. Australian Office of Financial Management (part of the Department of the Treasury)
  3. Australian Renewable Energy Agency (part of the Department of Industry)
  4. Commonwealth Grants Commission (part of the Department of the Treasury)
  5. Defence Materiel Organisation (part of the Department of Defence)
  6. Director of National Parks (part of the Department of the Environment)
  7. Geoscience Australia (part of the Department of Industry)
  8. IP Australia (part of the Department of Industry)
  9. Royal Australian Mint (part of the Department of the Treasury)
  10. Seafarers Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Authority - Seacare Authority (part of Comcare)
  11. Social Security Appeals Tribunal (part of the Department of Social Services)

Page ID: 3678

Back to top of the page