snAPShots December 2012

Last updated: 06 May 2013

This page is: current


These tables present a summary of employment under the Public Service Act 1999 at 31 December 2012 and during the 2012 calendar year. The data is an update of that presented in the APS Statistical Bulletin 2011-12. Data will now be available six monthly—through this summary for calendar year data, and through the annual State of the Service Report (SOSR) and APS Statistical Bulletin (the Bulletin) for more detailed financial year data.

The data in these tables is sourced from the APS Employment Database (APSED), which contains data extracted from agencies’ HR systems. The Australian Public Service Commission continues to work with agencies to improve the quality and timeliness of the data they provide to APSED. Each year extensive audits and error checking of APSED are undertaken, to ensure that sound conclusions can be drawn from the data. Through this audit process, previously published data has been updated. The June 2012 data published in SOSR and the Bulletin has been revised.
As in the Bulletin, a headcount approach is used in these tables—that is, people working part-time are aggregated with people working full-time without weighting. Data also includes inoperative staff. Employees’ classification in these tables refers to their base or substantive classification.

Abbreviations used in these tables and changes to administrative arrangements for the period July to December 2012 are explained below. The Explanatory Notes at Appendix 1 of the Bulletin provide definitions of terms used in these tables.

The Bulletin is available from the Statistical Bulletin page on this website.

APS at a glance—December 2012

At 31 December 2012 there were 165,598 staff in the APS. This total comprised:

  • 152,111 ongoing staff (down by 1.1% from 153,853 in December 2011)
  • 13,487 non-ongoing staff (down by 0.2% from 13,509 in December 2011)

During 2012:

  • 9,065 ongoing employees were engaged to the APS
  • 10,834 ongoing employees separated from the APS

List of tables

A list of tables is provided in the right column of this page.


ABCC - Australian Building and Construction Commissioner

ACCC - Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

ACIAR - Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research

ACLEI - Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity

ACMA - Australian Communications and Media Authority

ACSQHC - Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care

AIATSIS - Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders Studies

ANAO - Australian National Audit Office

ANPHA - Australian National Preventive Health Agency

AOTDTA - Australian Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplant Authority

APVMA - Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority

ARPANSA - Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency

ASIC - Australian Securities and Investments Commission

ASQA - Australian Skills Quality Authority

AusAID - Australian Agency for International Development

AUSTRAC - Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre

Austrade - Australian Trade Commission

ComSuper - Commonwealth Superannuation Administration

Customs & Border Protection - Australian Customs and Border Protection Service

DBCDE - Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy

DCCEE - Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency

DEEWR - Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations

Defence - Department of Defence

DIISRTE - Department of Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary Education

DPP - Director of Public Prosecutions

EOWA - Equal Opportunity for Women in the Workplace Agency

FaHCSIA - Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

FSANZ - Food Standards Australia New Zealand

GBRMPA - Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority

Human Services - Department of Human Services

Infrastructure - Department of Infrastructure and Transport

ITSA - Insolvency and Trustee Service Australia

MRT/RRT - Migration Review Tribunal / Refugee Review Tribunal

NHMRC - National Health and Medical Research Council

NNTT - National Native Title Tribunal

NOPSA - National Offshore Petroleum Safety Authority

OIGIS - Office of the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

OPC - Office of the Parliamentary Counsel

ORER - Office of the Renewable Energy Regulator

PM&C - Prime Minister and Cabinet

SEWPAC - Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities

TEQSA - Tertiary Education and Quality Standards Agency

Treasury - Department of the Treasury

TUSMA - Telecommunications Universal Service Management Agency

Veterans’ Affairs - Department of Veterans’ Affairs

Changes to Administrative Arrangements, July to December 2012

Date Agency employees moved from Agency employees moved to Number of ongoing staff Number of non-ongoing staff Changes to administrative arrangements July to December 2012
1/07/2012 Immigration and Citizenship MRT/RRT 51 . With the winding down of IPAO and ramping up of the tribunals resources between the two agencies were amalgamated.
1/07/2012 NNTT Federal Court of Australia 17 7 Government decision announced in Budget 2012 to move NNTT to the Federal Court.
2/07/2012 DIISRTE ASQA 8 . Staff transferred as a result of COAG decision in December 2009 to establish a national regulator (ASQA)for the vocational education and training sector.
2/07/2012 DIISRTE TEQSA 1 . Staff transferred as a result of COAG decision in December 2009 to establish a single national regulatory and quality agency (TEQSA) for the higher education sector.
2/07/2012 DCCEE Climate Change Authority 5 1 DCCEE to Climate Change Authority occurred due to legislation of the new Climate Change Authority Act.
1/10/2012 Attorney-General’s Office of the Parliamentary Counsel 59 10 Government decision to move Office of Legislative Drafting Publishing (OLDP) employees from Attorney-General’s to OPC.